STARS is a highly collaborative project and AASHE offers multiple opportunities for stakeholder engagement.

Governance Applications

The application period is now closed for the STARS Steering Committee and the AASHE Advisory Council. We will accept applications again in autumn 2024.

STARS Steering Committee

The STARS Steering Committee (SC) approves updates and revisions to the technical content of STARS, including each new version, and also advises on program policy, finances, and strategic positioning.  SC members serve a three-year term and may be re-appointed for a second term. 

Current SC Members

  • Mike Harrington (Chair), Assistant Director, Tishman Environment and Design Center, The New School (2020-2025)
  • Tonie Miyamoto (Vice Chair), Director of Communications and Sustainability, Colorado State University (2022-2024)
  • Julian Dautremont, Director of Programs, AASHE (ex-officio)
  • Alex Davis, Assistant Director, University Sustainability Practices, Arizona State University (2024-2026)
  • Stephen Ellis, Director of Data Analytics, BU Sustainability, Boston University (2022-2024)
  • Jessica Krejcik, Sustainability Analyst, Office of Sustainability, Concordia University (2024-2026)
  • Benjamin Newton, Environmental Sustainability Director, Central Community College (2021-2026)
  • Kelli O’Day, Assessment Program Manager, University of California, Davis (2024-2026)
  • Chris Pelton, STARS Program Manager, AASHE (ex-officio)
  • Dr. Carmen Primo Perez, Division of the Chief Operating Officer, University of Tasmania (2021-2026)
  • Tamara Wallace, Sustainability Programs Manager, California State University Office of the Chancellor (2020-2025)
  • Rebecca Watts Hull, Assistant Director, Faculty Development for Sustainability Education Initiatives, Georgia Institute of Technology (2021-2026)

Technical Committees

Technical Committees of the AASHE Advisory Council (AC) are the primary source for input and insight regarding the content of STARS credits. The Technical Committees also play an adjudicatory role when questions about the information reported through STARS are not otherwise resolved. There are four Technical Committees: Academics, Engagement, Operations and Planning & Administration.

Partner Organizations

STARS Partner Organizations are higher education associations and other non-profit organizations that provide value to the development and promotion of STARS.  To inquire about becoming a partner organization, email

Center for Resource Solutions
Green Building Initiative
Re:wild Your Campus
Menus of Change University Research Collaborative
Post-Landfill Action Network
Second Nature
Sustainable Purchasing Leadership Council
This policy outlines the various bodies and stakeholders that guide the evolution of STARS.
This policy outlines how AASHE manages the STARS technical development process,
Share your feedback and help shape the evolution of STARS.