Log In

The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating Systemâ„¢ (STARS) is a transparent, self-reporting framework for colleges and universities to measure their sustainability performance.

STARS Technical Advisors

STARS Technical Advisors are the primary source for input and insight regarding the content of STARS credits. Technical Advisors are drawn from higher education institutions, non-profit organizations, government agencies, and businesses, with preference given for AASHE members. For more information, see STARS Governance.



  • Kim Landsbergen, Associate Professor of Biology and Environmental Science, Antioch College
  • Michael Lizotte, University Sustainability Officer, University of North Carolina Charlotte
  • Audrey Mayer, Associate Professor, Ecology & Environmental Policy, Michigan Technological University
  • Beth Mercer-Taylor, Sustainability Education Coordinator, University of Minnesota 
  • Max Zahniser, Ecoxera and The Sustainability NEXUS


  • Christie-Joy Hartman, Executive Director, Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability, James Madison University
  • Maike Luiken, Dean, Applied Research and Sustainable Development, Lambton College 
  • Justin Miller, Director, Sponsored Programs Office / Educational Studies, Ball State University 


Campus Engagement

  • Marianne Buehler, Urban Sustainability Librarian, University of Nevada, Las Vegas 
  • Christina Erickson, Sustainability Coordinator, Champlain College 
  • Amber Garrard, Outreach & Education Manager, Yale University
  • Lindsey Kalkbrenner, Director, Office of Sustainability, Santa Clara University 
  • Jill Burchell, Coordinator of Sustainability Education, University of Arizona 

Public Engagement

  • Brian Hagenbuch, Dean, MST & Health, Schenectady County Community College 
  • Jocelyn Hittle, Director, Denver Operational Initiatives, Colorado State University 
  • Mariam Masud, Advisor, Operational Sustainability, University of Calgary
  • Debra Rowe, Professor of Behavioral Sciences, Oakland Community College 


Air & Climate

  • Kevin Gilford, Assistant Sustainability Director, University of Colorado Colorado Springs 
  • Moira Hafer, Sustainability Analyst, Stanford University
  • Denielle Harrison, Sustainability Fellow, Dartmouth College
  • Elizabeth Turner, Campus Planner & Architect, Perkins+Will 
  • Jesse Warren, Sustainability Program Manager – Buildings & Operations, University of Virginia


  • Dan Hellmuth, Principal, Hellmuth + Bicknese Architects, LLC 
  • Adam Stoker, Sustainability Consultant, University of Calgary; Director, Alberta Chapter of the Canada Green Building Council 
  • Joel Stout, Senior Associate, Building Sustainability Practice, Thornton Tomasetti 


  • Kevin Bright, Energy and Sustainability Director, Destination Medical Center Economic Development Agency
  • Nathan Gauthier, Construction Management Consultant, UNICEF Rwanda 
  • Zuhair Mased, Director, Energy, Sustainability & Engineering, University of California Merced 
  • Khaled Tarabieh, Assistant Professor of Sustainable Design, The American University in Cairo 

Food & Dining

  • Dedee DeLongpre Johnston, Chief Sustainability Officer, Wake Forest University
  • Tim Galarneau, Food Systems Education & Research Program Specialist, Center for Agroecology & Sustainable Food Systems, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Isabelle Mailhot-Leduc, Sustainable Food System Coordinator, Concordia University
  • Michael Meyering, Project and Sustainability Manager, University of Washington Dining
  • Nina Mukherji, Director of Programs, The Real Food Challenge


  • Jenny deHart, Chief Sustainability officer, Unity College
  • Justin Heavey, Senior Research Support Specialist, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (SUNY-ESF)
  • Julie Higgins, Principal, Landscape Architecture, Hord Coplan Macht
  • Matt James, Assistant Professor, Landscape Architecture, South Dakota State University 


  • John Riley, Senior Sustainability Scientist at the Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability, Arizona State University
  • Wade Sanner, Assistant Director of Strategic Sourcing, Emory University 
  • Erin Stanforth, Director of Sustainability, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Brian Yeoman, Director of Sustainable Leadership, Natl. Assoc. of Educational Procurement 


  • Amelia Neptune, Program Manager, Bicycle Friendly University & Business, League of American Bicyclists
  • Albert Ng, Senior Transportation Engineer, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin
  • Ruairi O’Mahony, Associate Director, Office of Sustainability, University of Massachusetts Lowell


  • Tyler Arrigo, Program Coordinator, University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • Alex Davis, Sustainability Coordinator, Babson College
  • Corey Hawkey, Sustainability Manager, Arizona State University
  • Chris Kane, Campus Coordinator and Director of Campus Research and Resource Development, Post-Landfill Action Network (PLAN)
  • Jeff Murphy, Manager of Sustainability Services at Sightlines, LLC
  • Ron Vance, Chief, Materials Conservation and Recycling Branch, U.S. EPA 


  • Aparna Dial, Director, Energy and Sustainability, The Ohio State University
  • Elaine Gallagher Adams, Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Preston Jacobsen, Sustainability Coordinator, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Lisa McNeilly, Director, Office of Sustainability, University of California Berkeley 

Planning & Administration

Coordination & Planning

  • David Ayers, Associate Professor, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Lindell Haverstic, Project Architect, Office of Facilities Planning, Pittsburg State University 
  • Mary House, Senior Principal, Environmental Compliance, Woodard & Curran
  • Cynthia Klein-Banai, Associate Chancellor for Sustainability, University of Illinois at Chicago 

Diversity & Affordability

  • Kristy Howell, Sustainability Engagement and Education Coordinator, Johnson County Community College
  • Matthew Mancuso, Sustainability Coordinator, Iowa Western Community College 
  • Yolanda Moses, Associate Vice Chancellor of Diversity, University of California Riverside 


  • Gabriel Huppé, Associate, International Institute for Sustainable Development 
  • Cary Krosinsky, Adjunct and Coordinator, Earth Institute, Columbia University
  • Mark Orlowski, Founder & Executive Director, Sustainable Endowments Institute

Wellbeing & Work

  • Elise Amel, Director of Environmental Studies, University of St. Thomas 
  • Bill Benet, Executive Director, Graduation Pledge Alliance, Bentley University
  • David DuBois, Director of Research & Development, True Market Solutions 
  • Nina Morris, Program Manager, Outreach & Engagement, University of Virginia

International Advisory Group

  • Albert Hankel, Project Manager and Sustainability Ambassador, SURFnet; Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Pierre Lemay, Adjoint au vice-recteur exécutif et au développement, Université Laval, Québec 
  • Alexandra Velasco, Professor, Universidad San Francisco de Quito, Ecuador

Former Technical Advisors

Katherine Baker, Chad Bledsoe, Justin Brown, Seth Charde, Bowen Close, Sandra B. Conners, Aurali Dade, Lisa Deal, Alex Denis, Cathy DuBois, Elaine Durr, Klay Dyer, Keri Enright-Kato, Emily Gilliland, Deborah Green, Rich Grogan, Lauren Heising, Jeannette LeZaks, Mary Ellen Mallia, Kristin Markley, Sara McKinstry, Josetta McLaughlin, Ann Radil, Reagan Richmond, Christopher Silva, Nicholas Smith-Sebasto, John Stokes, Meghna Tare, Taun Toay, Jiffy Vermylen, Kristi Wiedemann, Edward R. Wilson.